Christmas Drinks for SA Members

Adelaide Tuesday 9th December 2014

Read more

National Awards Scheme

AACBT offers two annual awards to recognise achievements in the field of cognitive and behaviour therapy. These are awarded at the National Conference and the recipients are invited to address the conference being held during the year of their award. Applications are due on the 30th of June each year. These awards are:


This award is named in memory of Tracy Goodall who was tragically killed on Friday March 5, 1993. Tracy was a well-known member of the AACBT (then the ABMA) and was Queensland State president during 1990 and 1991. She was also a very dear friend and colleague of many AACBT members and members of the World Congress Organising Committee.

The aim of the award is to provide encouragement for recent graduate researchers and clinicians in cognitive-behaviour research and therapy. The award is to recognise research or clinical innovation that has made an outstanding contribution to this field in Australia.

No award will be made if the quality of applicants is deemed inadequate by the selection committee.

To qualify for consideration:

  • You must have completed your first postgraduate qualification, either Masters or PhD no more than 5 years ago. While applicants are still eligible for consideration on the basis of having an undergraduate qualification alone, it is anticipated that successful applicants will have higher degrees.
  • There is no upper age limit stipulated.
  • You must be a full financial member of the AACBT at the time of application.
  • You must not be a current member of the AACBT Awards Selection Committee.
  • You can apply as many times as you wish as long as the criteria for application are met.
  • Complete the application form.

 The award and related responsibilities:

  • The award is composed of $2,000, which is to be used for conference travel to the National Conference in the year of the award.
  • It is a condition of the award that a "Tracy Goodall Early Career Award Address" must be presented at this conference.
  • The conference registration fee will be waived, but workshop fees, meals, accommodation, travel, etc will be the responsibility of the award winner.

It is expected that:

  • Remaining funds, not spent on conference attendance, will be used to advance the practice of CBT related activities and can be used for other conference travel, research or clinical expenses.
  • A certificate will be presented.

Tracy Goodall Early Career Awardees

1995: Andrew Page

1996: Adrian Kelly

1997: Dr Sharon Dawe

1998: Dr Paula Barrett

1999: Dr Shirley Morrissey

2000: Dr Clare Rees

2002: Dr Susan Byrne

2003: Dr Jennifer Hudson

2004: Dr Nikolaos Kazantzis

2005: Dr Reg Nixon

2008: Dr Adam Gustella

2009: Fjola Helgadottir

2012: Dr Karina Allen



This award is to provide recognition for researchers and clinicians working in cognitive behaviour research and therapy whose total career achievements have made an outstanding contribution to the progress of the field in Australia.

No award will be made should the quality of applicants be deemed insufficient by the AACBT Awards' Committee.

 To be considered for the award:

  • A peer nomination using the Nomination form is required.
  • The nominee must have made a substantial contribution to clinical practice, teaching or research.
  • Typically the nominee should be in a senior position of leadership.
  • Neither nominees, nor those nominating the potential recipient, should be current members of the AACBT Awards' Committee.

The award and related responsibilities:

  •  It is a condition of the award that a “Distinguished Career Award Address” is presented at  AACBT National Conference in the year of the award. 
  • A commemorative plague will be presented to you at the AACBT National Conference. 
  • The conference registration fee will be waived, but workshop fees, meals, accommodation, travel, etc will be the responsibility of the award winner.


Distinguished Career Awardees

1995: Jay Birnbrauer

1996: Sydney Lovibond

1999: Associate Professor Neville King

2000: Professor Alan Hudson

2002: Professor Kim Halford

2003:  Prof Jeff Richards

2004:  Professor Henry Jackson

2005:  Mark Creamer

2006:  Richard Bryant

2009: Professor Ron Rapee

2012: Professor David Kavanagh




Subscribe to our e-newsletter and get the latest tips, news, reports, information and details on events.


Address: 15 Haig Avenue
Georges Hall NSW 2198